Government barcamp – the sequel

People have been asking me almost since the end of the last one when the next government barcamp would be held.

I’ve been reluctant to be involved in planning or organising it, partly because I thought there were plenty of others who could take it on (and it was a lot of work to get off the ground), partly because I wasn’t sure why we needed to have another one (otherwise someone else would have organised it?).

Doing something to follow up the barcamp has been on my mind for some time and I’ve thrown out all sorts of ideas without any real conclusion to the discussions.

Anyway it just so happened that two days ago discussion about a follow up barcamp came up on three separate occasions. Over lunch with two of my fellow conspirators from the first barcamp I was persuaded encouraged by them that now is the right time to think about another event.

Why? Because so much has happened in the last year of egovernment. In January 2008 it was all about making connections, getting the network going, and thinking about the possibilities.

But a year on, there’s a lot to show for the energy generated by the barcamp. Great social media projects, brilliant initiatives to make better use of government data, excellent work to improve existing government websites, and a geek minister.

Its never easy for us all to get together to share what we’ve done, how we did it, what went well, what went not so well. What you’re planning next.

So, what are you doing on Saturday 31st January 2009? Don’t know where it will be yet (but have a few ideas) or what will happen. But as I learnt to my cost last year, that’s all part of the fun. Hope you can make it.

Author: Jeremy

Somebody who likes nice things that work, without having to spend too much time working out why.

12 thoughts on “Government barcamp – the sequel”

  1. I don’t think you can overestimate the impact that UKGovWeb 08 had on stimulating and connecting a community – it’s those kinds of interactions, demonstrations and contacts which will really transform government.

    Can’t wait for UKGovWeb 09 🙂

  2. I missed the first one, and have heard so much about it since that I seriously regret not being there.

    So include me in, and it’s definitely the right time. I think social media innovation (and innovation around getting web 1.0 right as well) has built up some real momentum now. It’s an exciting time to be working in digital media in government and I look forward to some interesting stuff at the barcamp.

  3. I missed the last one as well… but now free of the shackles of a certain big and important office in the centre of London, I’ll be there!! Also, agree with Steph that there was a noticable increase in momentum after the last event… Must, must, must keep the pressure up.

  4. Nice one Jeremy,

    couldn’t make the last one although planned to…Will try and make arrangements to get to it. But that may depend on where it is of course?

    Carl

Leave a comment